Statewide West Texas Based Real Estate Salesperson & Broker License School Delivering Exam Prep, Continuing Ed & Career Training Designations
To be eligible to apply for a real estate Salesperson License, an individual must be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien, eighteen (18) years of age or older and a legal resident of Texas.
Education Requirement - Before applying for a real estate Salesperson License, an individual must first furnish the Commission with satisfactory evidence of successfully completing the following educational requirements:
Filing your application - After the Commission has notified you that your education has been satisfied, you may then file and pay for the Application for Inactive Salesperson License. Please apply and pay for your Inactive Salesperson License online. The information requested online is the same as on the paper application, yet the application process is sped up considerably, reducing by several days the time you must wait to register to take the exam. If submitting a paper application and check by mail or in person, please keep in mind that an incomplete application will NOT be returned to you for completion. A letter will be mailed requesting the incomplete information. The following required fees must be submitted at the time of filing an application. If submitting your application by mail or in person, please note that an application received without the appropriate fees will be rejected and your check will be returned to you. The following fees should be submitted in ONE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER payable to the Texas Real Estate Commission. ALL FEES LISTED BELOW ARE NONREFUNDABLE. These fees are required with the Real Estate Salesperson License Application.
Fee amount comment original application:
$97.00 - required for all applicants Recovery Trust Account (formerly Recovery Fund)
$10.00 - required for all applicants unless previously paid.
Examination information - License examinations are administered by Pearson VUE, a testing service company. Once your application has been received, processed and accepted, you will receive notification that you may obtain a copy of the Candidate Information Brochure (CIB) to register for the exam. The CIB will provide instructions on how to make reservations to take the examination and contains study material and instructions about licensing. Please DO NOT attempt to register for the exam without first receiving notification from our office. The examination must be passed within six months from the date the application is filed with the commission office.
Investigation may be needed - The filing of an application authorizes an investigation of the applicant's background. Information revealed in an investigation may be cause for disapproval of an application even though other requirements for a license are met. If an investigation is necessary, it may not be conducted until the applicant has passed the examination.
Texas guaranteed student loan repayment history checked - State law prohibits the renewal of a license if a licensee has defaulted on a student loan guaranteed by the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation (TGSLC) unless the licensee has entered into a repayment agreement with TGSLC. YOU SHOULD CONTACT TGSLC BEFORE FILING THIS APPLICATION if you have defaulted on a student loan. An application or renewal may be rejected if this agency has received information from TGSLC that the applicant has defaulted on a student loan. The Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation can be reached at:
Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation
P.O. Box 15996
Austin, Texas 78761-5996
Obtain sponsorship - Before you can practice as a licensed salesperson you must arrange for a Texas real estate broker holding an active license to sponsor you as a salesperson. Applicants and inactive salespersons are not authorized to act as real estate agents. While you are not required to have a sponsoring broker to file an application for a license, a Salesperson Sponsorship Form is included with the application materials. If you wish, you may file the sponsorship request along with the application. Once all licensing requirements have been satisfied, TREC will send an active salesperson license to the broker, and you may act for the broker on receipt of the license. You may also file the application and arrange for sponsorship after TREC notifies you that you have been issued an inactive license. Once a broker holding an active license has mailed a request to TREC to act as your sponsor, you may begin to act for the broker as a salesperson.
Don't practice prior to licensure - You are not authorized to perform any act for which a real estate license is required until an ACTIVE Texas Real Estate Commission license is in the possession of your sponsoring broker. As noted above in the Filing Your Application section, online applications travel through the system much faster than paper-based applications. The online application process could potentially save you weeks of waiting for a license, due to the delays of regular mail communication and other factors inherent in the paper-based process (such as data entry time and processing of checks). Please apply and pay for your Inactive Salesperson License online.
Completion of 180 classroom hours for Salesperson licensure or 900 classroom hours for Broker licensure is required. Of these, 180 hours for Salesperson or 270 hours for Broker must be in core real estate courses.
30 hours in Law of Agency, 30 hours in Law of Contracts, and 60 hours in Principles of Real Estate (Principles I and Principles II) , 30-hours in Finance and 30-hours in Promulgated Contracts class are required.
After you have completed your education, you will submit your Application for Inactive Salesperson License. Evidence of successful completion of your education certificates to TREC in the "MY License" system on the TREC website at trec.texas.gov. Click on the "Register Here to set up your user ID and password" and folow the steps to create an account. Once an account is created you will apply for a new license.
The application fee for a saleperson license is $205. Be sure and submit all of your completed education certificates to TREC via Email firstname.lastname@example.org or Fax 512-936-3863.
NOTE TO SALESPERSON AND BROKER APPLICANTS: ALL FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE.
TREC will either approve or disapprove the application. Estimated approval time 7-10 days. TREC will issue and send or email a Candidate Information Brochure with a number assigned only to THAT STUDENT. (This is literally a “Permission to Take the Exam” letter.)
If you've passed the exam, the results are electronically sent to TREC, and your new license will be sent to your sponsoring broker upon submission of a salesperson sponsorship form.
If a student fails an exam, he or she can simply schedule another exam with the Center as soon as space is available. A recently enacted law (HB 1530, 80th Legislature, Regular Session) requires any person applying for or renewing a broker or salesperson license on or after January 1, 2008 to provide their fingerprints, in a specified format, in order to enable an FBI criminal history check to be performed.
The Academy of Regulated Real Estate Courses™ - TARREC™ is based in Lubbock, TX but serves all of Texas. Call us to learn more.